Home > Software > Windows Vista – A Sneak Peek

Windows Vista – A Sneak Peek

Saturday, September 1, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Recently, one of my friends brother who is in US sent him a brand new lenovo laptop. That had the new Windows Vista OS installed in it. I was very much interested to intrigue into the details to see how the graphics look like on the new Vista. I heard the new Vista is compellingly good in graphics when compared to the XP OS which actually started the graphics revolution on Windows.

I have provided you some screen shots of how the Windows Vista GUI looks like for your reference. The Desktop, Save As, Start Menu etc., Some of my favourites which I call The “Sneak Preview“, the options which actually shows up the preview of the window that is minimized when the mouse pointer moves over to it and the “Alt+Tab” feature which actually shows up the windows that you use. These are just for your reference. I just started with the GUI because of the reason that I love to see the cool graphics on my desktop whenever i login to my system. I love to keep changing my wallpapers every now n then. I also like to listen to music so I tried with the real player installation and starte listening to some real time streaming songs. It was actually good when compared to the other versions of Windows OS.

It’s enough of the simple stuff, let’s try some serious stuff. I liked to connect to my official ssl vpn setup. First thing it showed me was a “Certificate Error” which i don’t know what exactly the failure suggested me. This was the same url link which I was using with my friends other laptop which has an XP installed on it. I wondered that didn’t prompt any Certificate Errors, but did the Vista which I was so interested in checking. Ok enough is enough, I proceeded with the option “Continue to this website (not recommended)” option since I know that this is my company’s valid web url which I was using in the past. This seems to be working fine. My Terminal Server connection from the ssl vpn connection was as usually the same even with the Vista.

As I said, this is just a sneak peak through the much more wide variety of features in the Windows Vista. If I find time, I’ll try to go in further to tell you more about it.

Categories: Software
  1. Lakshman
    Sunday, September 9, 2007 at 9:58 PM

    Hmm…Vista’s GUI is really good but its all copied from Apples Mac, Even Youtube’s some of UI designs r copied from Mac.
    But i like that vistas multiple screens viewing option.

    Certificate error is coz of self-signed certificates from Organizations, one of sol to avoid this s by purchasin a certificate for each Web server from a third-party provider…..all there to avoid PHISING..

    I m curious to discuss abt problems with Vista.

    * Annoying feature of Vista is it will ask whether to do something which u asked to do.
    eg: if u open a zip file, a pop window will open n it will ask shall i allow the zip s/w to open then shall i open the file….comon am opeining coz i want to.

    * IE – One of the worst thing in Vista, which gives lot of trobules. one eg: IE wont work most of d times when u resume after u keep d system in sleep or hibernate mode. only sol is to restart d sys…wat d heck s this….

    *Windows media player – one more Satan from Vista, It looses all ur library, folder details some times n u wont even b able 2 pull a folder , only sol restart :X

    *Color scheme probs – Am using Vista Premium, wen ever i open a Photo editing s/w it shows me a msg “color scheme changed to Vsta basic” and d screen will flickr ….this will be anoying wen ur working wid photos wer u ll get msg freq..who need this info

    *n lot more …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

